Life Is A Roller Coaster.

large_bigtime

Get back in line and keep riding.

When I was a child there used to be amusement companies with small versions of midway rides and they travelled from mall to mall, setting up in the parking lots.  At the risk of giving away my generational category I will admit that, at age 9, I was permitted to go to these venues alone.

I stared at the roller coaster. It was definitely small, but so was I. Never more than ten feet from the ground it still loomed large and powerful in my eyes. I don’t know what made me get in line to ride it, and I was shaking when I climbed in. I clung to the bar in my first white knuckle experience and scarcely breathed.

Grateful to be back on solid ground, I got in line again. I didn’t know why. I remember consciously asking myself the question and not receiving an answer.

The second ride mirrored the first.  Again I felt gratitude when I walked through the exit, and again I got in line. Nine year olds cannot be aware enough to question their very sanity, but I did wonder why on earth I was going to put myself through this again.

The third round was different. Still clinging to the bar, I flew over the first rise in the track and began to laugh. Right out loud; all by myself.  The experience was exhilarating. I got in line a fourth time, smiling and excited. The fear was gone.

The serenity prayer says this: God give me the strength to accept those things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference. Life is a roller coaster.

2 thoughts on “Life Is A Roller Coaster.

  1. They still exist,Wendy. Now, through adult eyes, we see them as cheap, overpriced and small thrill corner parking lot events, not worth stopping to check out. And you know what? We are right. But that doesnt negate the thrill of that first ride. My first similar memory is of sneaking out on a FRIDAY night to go to the one that was set up in Riverside Park in Preston. The bright lights, the smells… I can still see it all as clear as if it happened yesterday. It was a magical place.

Leave a Reply

