M.J. added a ‘ping back’ to my article “Editing: Expense or Investment” and I thank her for that. She covers things which I didn’t, and this is an informative read.

M. J. Kane

Editors. In the world of writing, we all need one. The question is when.

During my writing journey, I’ve heard various tales, feedback, and opinions.

No, don’t hire an editor to read your work before submitting. You’ll be wasting money. Let the publisher pay for it.

Yes, hire an editor; it could increase your quality of your product and give you an opportunity to actually find and agent and/or publisher.

Decisions, decisions, decisions.

When it all comes down to it, the true question is: how much money do you want to invest?


Two years ago, the thought of an editor reviewing my work scared me. The idea of someone ripping it to shreds, and spitting it back at me, demanding that it be re-written because it wasn’t good enough, had me cursing the profession. I pushed that thought aside and focused on writing a story I wanted to…

View original post 1,221 more words

2 thoughts on “

  1. Hi Wendy! Your welcome. This was an article I wrote a year ago before my first book was published. I learned a lot from other authors around me, and am glad I took the time to have my work edited before I started the query process; it made the work of my publishers editor go smoothly. Not to mention, the editor I used took the time to answer my questions, and I have learned so much that it’s made writing my next project (to be published on 3/22) a lot easier. Working with an editor, especially a good one, is not only about cleaning up your work, it’s a learning experience that can make you a better writer from the start of every project! Editors who are dedicated to doing their best are a true investment for the serious writer! We appreciate you!

Leave a Reply

